Op-ed: My heart sank…because I understand

Lori White | Vice Chancellor for Students

Read a letter from our editor, Sam Seekings, about this submission here.

When I read the op-ed in Student Life from a student sharing that she had been physically assaulted by a fellow student and suggesting that other students may have been sexually assaulted by the same student, my heart sank. It is painful to think about all that this student and others may be going through and feeling that, from her vantage point, the University has failed to adequately respond. My heart sank because, as vice chancellor for students, my first and highest priority is the safety and well-being of all of our students, especially any who need our help. It also sank because it brought back feelings I’ve had because I, too, am a survivor.

I was a graduate student. I was the victim of horribly painful sexual misconduct by someone I knew and trusted. The perpetrator was someone who worked on campus in the community where I was studying. The case became public. I was embarrassed that my classmates and professors would find out I was one of the victims (there were several) and would look at me and see me differently. I appreciated the support services available on campus and took advantage of them. I did not have any choice as to whether to report because this case became a criminal matter, so my name did become known to the university and I lost my sense of agency. As time as passed, I have buried this incident as something that happened to someone else so I could move on. But I have never forgotten my anger about having been betrayed by someone I thought I could trust, and the shame of feeling that what happened was somehow my fault.