[open] slate sweeps SU election, 5 new amendments passed

The [open] slate swept the election for Student Union executive office early Thursday evening, according to Election Commissioner Colin Towery.

Sophomore Morgan DeBaun will be the next SU president and Eliot Walker, John Harrison York, Kirsten Miller and Cody Katz will be the next VP Finance, VP Programming, VP Administration and VP Public Relations respectively.

“We’re really ready to hit the ground running,” DeBaun said. ““We ran as a team and I’m happy that we won as a team.”

No members of junior Nate Ferguson’s competing Bold slate were elected to executive office.

Of the ten proposed SU constitutional amendments on the ballot, five passed.

Among those that passed was the amendment to create the Diversity Affairs Council.
Additionally four of junior Trevor Mattea’s proposed amendments passed including an amendment that would allow individual students to appeal to treasury.

Check back soon for more information

Sign up for the email edition

Stay up to date with everything happening as Washington University returns to campus.