is here!

Letter to the editor: Comments more concerning than content

Schuyler Atkins | Class of 2016

My name is Schuyler Atkins, and I am a freshman here at Washington University. I am writing you concerning your recent article about the suspension of Sigma Alpha Epsilon activities involving racially charged action. My concern is not about the content of your article, but rather the comments that have been made on the article.

First of all, I believe that everyone, regardless of opinion, should be able to comment on the articles on this website. However, I also believe that the possibility of anonymity concerning the posters of these comments has allowed for offensive and hurtful comments to be made on this particular article. While my own feelings towards these comments may not be your concern, I believe that the feelings of prospective students should be both your concern and the concern of the university, in general. In a few weeks, students will receive their acceptance letters to Washington University. Some of those students will be attending finalist weekend for the Ervin, Rodriguez and Danforth Scholars Programs. Even more of those students will attend Celebration Weekend in April. Even students who attend neither of these weekends will undoubtedly peruse the Washington University Facebook group, and all of these students will eventually stumble upon this article (if they haven’t already).