Keep your eyes on the horizon

Ben Fishman | Freshman Press Writer

It goes without saying that a person giving advice to incoming freshmen should probably be at least a sophomore or junior. It doesn’t make much sense for someone who hasn’t even started college yet to give advice about doing so.

I’m an incoming freshman. So, now that we’ve established that I have no idea what I’m talking about, here are my thoughts anyway.

Starting a new life at a new school is nerve-wracking no matter who you are or where you’re from. Personally, I’m occasionally terrified by the thought of how far away from home I am, but even those who’ve always lived in St. Louis are going to have plenty of adjusting to do at their new home here. My first few days have been chock-full of worries, anxiety and a constant, nagging doubt, wiggling around in my brain, trying to convince me I’ve made a huge mistake and I’m going to be miserable for the next four years because of it. There is one simple fact that keeps me optimistic (most of the time) despite this: I’m not the only one, not by a longshot. We’re all in this together, and as a result, I’m not worried or embarrassed at all by talking about how I feel.

Clearly, I can’t gauge how well I’ve succeeded in my own choices so far because I haven’t started yet, but there is another important step I am taking: Creating goals for my future here at Washington University. Some of those goals stem from advice and recommendations I’ve received from others, most are personalized for myself, but all serve to keep me sane, grounded in the present, and aware of where I want to go. My hope is that reading these could give others ideas for creating their own goals, or even aid in the struggle to maintain confidence in the short-term. Regardless, here they are, in no particular order.