Printing problem on campus

| Staff Columnist

Even in the short time that I have been at Wash. U., I can barely count the times that I have been late to a class because I have been unable to print something important. The problems I have faced range from the printer in my dorm’s computer room running out of paper and toner, to a wireless connection not working, to not being permitted to print at Eads Hall because I am an engineering student and NOT an ArtSci student. I have heard countless similar stories from friends who also were unable to, or delayed when printing important assignments. Frankly, this is simply outrageous. As one of the world’s top universities, Wash. U. should provide its students with easy access to the resources they need. Today, with more and more information available exclusively online, the ability to print documents is as essential to most students as a pencil, a backpack or a calculator. I would also contend that there are much better things our bright student body could be doing than struggling with printers in a way reminiscent of the fax machine in “Office Space.”