Republican vote takes more than just taxes

| Staff Columnist

It seems that recently, a number of Republicans have written in to complain about various issues. They’re complaining so much, you’d think they were Democrats! I’d like to point out one op-ed in particular, however, that I felt compelled to write about. Ryan McCombe argued “In response to College Republicans R.I.P.” that “Being a Republican means far more than being a conservative, Christian, closed-minded thinker, or a flagrant supporter of a certain former Texas governor. I’m not particularly religious and I’m not a proud member of the 22 percent of Americans who think George W. Bush is doing a fantastic job as president, but when it comes down to how I’d like my tax dollars to be spent, I side with the Republicans. And I’d like that to be okay with the rest of you.” Mr. McCombe: I’ll say it. It isn’t okay with me.

See, here’s the thing. First, I’m pretty sure you’re not paying a whole lot of taxes right now. So they’re not “your” tax dollars. Maybe they’re your parents’ tax dollars. Maybe I’m making a mistaken assumption and you’re completely independent of your parents, paying your own taxes. If that’s the case, I apologize. And of course, you have every right to have a say as to how you’d like your taxes to be spent.

Even if, however, you are paying a significant amount of taxes, I still have a problem. Tax policy just isn’t enough. Do you own a corporation? No. But I bet you have a female friend. Or a gay one. Or a black one. I bet you appreciate the environment. I bet that you or someone close to you went to a public school. I bet your grandparents benefit or have benefited from social security. I bet you have an appreciation for science, knowledge and research that keeps us competitive in the international arena. If you really care about conservative fiscal policies, vote for Ron Paul, not for John McCain.