Fear and loathing on the (post-) campaign trail

| Senior Forum Editor

Last Wednesday night, high on democratic idealism and the intoxicating scent of power, I announced my candidacy for Student Union as a write-in candidate. I have no experience, and I tend to roll my eyes at everything Student Union does. Right now, that position is in election limbo because I managed to tie with one other person. Democracy, ladies and gents.

It turns out that to win the Arts & Sciences Senate seat that completely lacked a candidate, only 10 votes were necessary. I garnered nine, as did one other candidate, Rohan Samarth. Incredibly, I got more votes than both Bristol Palin and penis (combined!), something of an accomplishment given how popular both of those entities are on campus. Amazingly, the art school’s election was even more farcical, with eight people tying for the one open seat, each garnering one vote apiece.

Had I voted for myself instead of Nate Silver (a girl can dream, can’t she?), I would’ve won outright. Let this be a two-fold civics lesson to you: 1) Always vote for yourself. The world is harsh. 2) The rhetoric that “every vote counts” is not as big a load of crap as you might assume. Given that I decided to run at the last minute on a platform that encourages allocating all of the budget to a group that makes its own butter and protecting the rights of the vertically challenged, I was pretty much the most extreme candidate running (not counting Bristol Palin). If you don’t vote, the crazies and extremists will win.