Student Life | The independent newspaper of Washington University in St. Louis since 1878

Bank of America protests anything but selfish

I have been surprised by the responses written in response to a Green Action protest, an event authors perceived as embarrassing and harmful to student’s “career interests.” As a recent graduate, I am not proud to have attended the same institution which has produced such an unthinking and hypocritical response to an act of social protest.

How is it possible that student authors, whose Facebook profiles boast pictures of international travel and internships at high-profile financial companies, think they are being victimized? Especially upsetting is that the supposed aggressors are students who have dedicated time and effort to combating the greatest economic and social threat ever faced by humankind: climate change. The authors’ view is a perspective which underlies the root of enormous social problems including climate change and growing inequality, one of unchecked self-interest and a disregard for the problems to which one contributes. According to such an ideology, higher education is just a stepping stone to personal achievement. One of the claims made in a September 19th editorial, that “students have dedicated years of study in an effort to secure such a job,” shows just such a belief, a view that that personal gain, like landing a high status banking job, comes before responsibility to society and consideration of others.