WUStock could scare off prospective students

Robert Brachman | Contributing writer

As many of us know, this past weekend was WUStock, with Walk the Moon playing as the headlining band. I enjoyed my time there—it seemed like everyone around me enjoyed it. Overall, I would call it a successful Saturday. For the students. But what about for the school?

This past week, there were visiting pre-frosh students staying at the University with the Overnight Welcome Leaders (OWL) program. The entire week, everyone was talking about going to WUStock, what mental condition they would be in and how they would get to that condition. Being a freshman, I (relatively) recently went through the college application process. One thing I distinctly remember was every college trying to prevent prospective students from hearing about and being involved in parties. In fact, they would do as much as they could to stress how many students do not drink. They stressed all their safety measures for students (for example, the omnipresent blue light emergency telephone system). The poor scheduling that led to the pre-frosh students being here the week of WUStock entirely undermines that effort.

These students are visiting to evaluate the academics of the school, especially compared to other schools they are looking at. Hosting their visits concurrently with WUStock ignores this. Instead, they are bombarded with social plans. This isn’t inherently a bad thing. It shows that we, as students at Washington University, are, in fact, human beings. We interact with each other and can enjoy ourselves outside class. However, the sheer size of the event means discussion about WUStock become ubiquitous. I fear that the discussion is overwhelming, giving off the idea that we care more about the mental state in which we attend WUStock and not so much our academics.