Knowledge of humanity

In the past eight months, I have traveled to or lived in seven different countries, three distinct U.S. cities and made approximately 45 new friends. I was briefed on world crises by the United Nations, read letters from the American Revolution and stuffed a couple thousand envelopes just to keep myself grounded. As a student, I learned a great deal about the world through my experiences. I brush those thousands of facts to the side, however, to highlight what I learned as a person with thoughts, emotions and stories to trade.

I won’t bore you with the countless anecdotes and stories I acquired through my recent experiences; I thought it more relevant to take this first and welcoming issue of Student Life to encourage my peers here at Wash. U. to seek out similar lessons, even in what seems like an established and comfortable environment.

Lesson one: Being right is not always right. With the start of a new semester, professors and students will inevitably challenge your current thinking, writing and study patterns. Instead of stubbornly sticking to old ways, try something new (even if on a temporary basis) and consciously try to learn from it instead of spending your time complaining about the methodological inadequacy. This may seem obvious, as you are both the voice of and the ear to many complaints throughout different academic scenarios, but you’d be surprised at how well you have been trained in the ways of your school or discipline. In the end, you may well discover that your way is still better. The talent comes from recognizing this fact and moving on.